Signal Is Rolling Out Vanishing Stories Feature To Beta Testers

avatar-user Nick Howard 2022-10-10
blog image

There are plenty of excellent features that make Signal a handy and fun-to-use app, with individual and group chats, pinned chats, audio/video calling, voice memos, message reactions, stickers, and disappearing texts being just a few of these.

Now, we are to have even more good reasons to turn to this most secure messaging platform as our go-to tool for communicating with friends and family. Signal is currently experimenting with a privacy-enhancing Stories feature that allows users to share chats, videos, and images, which should disappear permanently after 24 hours.

Obviously, Signal is not a pioneer in this area, and a broad range of chat apps like Instagram, WhatsApp, Snapchat, Messenger, and Telegram are already employing disappearing content functionality of some kind. So, for an app such as Signal, renowned for its enhanced digital privacy and security focus, having a vanishing Stories option was just a matter of time. Such Stories can be shared with all your connections at once or only with a select group of people by your choice. Users who disable the Story feature on their devices will no longer be able to view, react, or reply to other connections’ disappearing posts or publish their own.

Including end-to-end encrypted content, the new functionality by Signal is ready for beta testing. During the trial period, it should only be exclusively accessible to Signal beta testers, so try not to get upset if you or your connections do not see any of each other’s recent story creations. Once the testing is completed and successful, the functionality will be rolled out to everyone on the platform.

Are you signed up for Signal's beta program? What do you think of the new vanishing Stories feature if you have already tried it? Speak up in the comments below this post!

Latest posts

See more